Who's WhoHome / Church Life / Who's Who

This page contains brief details about the "movers and shakers" in Plumtree Church.

To help you form an impression of each person, we've also listed their favourite type of biscuit (where they've admitted to having one).

This page also lists the members of the Standing Committee and the current Parochial Church Council (PCC).

Rector | Revd Trevor Kirkman
Trevor Kirkman Tel: 0115 937 4116
Address: The Rectory, Church Hill, Plumtree, Nottingham NG12 5ND

Trevor is the Registrar of the Diocese of Leicester and also HM Coroner for Rutland and North Leicestershire. He has been Rector of St Mary's since 2010, prior to which he was at St Mary Magdalene Church in Keyworth.
Reader | Paul Olejnik
Paul Olejnik Tel: 07981 133 747

As well as being our Reader, Paul is responsible for organizing our Fellowship Events.

Biscuit: Anzac Biscuits (a traditional biscuit from Australia and New Zealand)
Churchwarden | Tony Darby
Tony Darby Tel: 0115 937 5476

Tony has exciting plans for the church. He's already a skilled compiler of Faculties and is eager to develop a strategic plan to take the church forward in these challenging times.

Biscuit: Hobnobs
Churchwarden | Pauline Voce
Pauline Voce Tel: 0115 974 9701

In addition to being a Churchwarden, Pauline is our chief "flower lady" helping organise flowers for weddings, church events and weekly services.

Biscuit: Ginger Nut
Treasurer | Barrie Woodcock
Tel: 0115 937 6374

Secretary to the PCC | Kate Macfarlane
Kate Macfarlane Tel: 0115 921 3114

Kate has been our PCC Secretary for over 20 years and a member of the choir for almost 30 years.

Biscuit: Fig Roll or Jammie Dodger!
Deputy Churchwarden | Rosemary Jordan
Rosemary Jordan Tel: 0115 937 2635
Address: 3 Clipston Lane, Normanton on the Wolds, Keyworth NG12 5NW

Rosemary is also editor of the Church Guide, editor and advertising contact for the parish magazine, organiser of the cleaning rotas and the Electoral Roll Officer.
Deputy Churchwarden | Fiona Carruthers
Fiona Carruthers Email:

Fiona also looks after the church website and helps post St Mary's entries on Facebook and Twitter. She assists Big Ted with his excursions and web pages.

Biscuit: Pink wafers (always left at the bottom of the box so you're guaranteed to get one).
Choir Leader | Angela North
Tel: 0115 937 4237

Angela is responsible for keeping the choir in order (a hard task). She directs choir practice on Wednesday evenings.
Tower Contact | Sue Manley
Tel: 0115 937 2366

Contact Sue if you are interested in learning to ring or if you are a ringer who would like to join us.

Also, if you are a band who would like to "borrow" our bells, Sue is the person to ask.
Church Communicator | Jackie Clark
Tel: 0115 937 4915

Jackie also helps to co-ordinate the Mission Group and assists with Paul's Fellowship Events.
Roving Ambassador | Big Ted
Big Ted Email:
Address: The Children's Corner, St Mary's Church, Church Hill, Plumtree

Big Ted is the Roving Ambassador for St Mary's Church, Plumtree. He pens articles for the Parish Magazine and he has a website where he writes about his adventures and puts his photos.

Biscuit: CusTED Creams [snigger]


Needless to say, many other people are involved in running the church and organising services. If you think someone else should be included in this list, please Contact Us.


Parochial Church Council (PCC)

The PCC is a team made up of members of the clergy (termed ex-officio) and also lay members of the church.

For full details of the duties and responsibilities associated with being a member of the PCC, see the St Mary's PCC section of this website.

PCC members for 2018 to 2019 are:

Ex-officio members:

  • Revd Trevor Kirkman (Rector)
  • Paul Olejnik (Reader)
  • Tony Darby (Churchwarden, Deanery Synod Representative)
  • Pauline Voce (Churchwarden)
  • Fiona Carruthers (Deanery Synod Representative)
  • Jackie Clark (Deanery Synod Representative)

Elected members:

  • Jane Cotton
  • Sylvia Insley
  • Rosemary Jordan
  • Kate Macfarlane
  • Brenda McClay
  • Sue Manley
  • Angela North
  • Margaret Osbourn
  • Annie Potter
  • Annie Rogers
  • Malcolm Saywell
  • Peter Smith

Standing Committee

The Standing Committee can make decisions affecting the church that need to be taken urgently between PCC meetings.  Members of the Standing Committee for 2018 to 2019 are:

  • Revd Trevor Kirkman (Rector)
  • Tony Darby (Churchwarden)
  • Pauline Voce (Churchwarden)
  • Barrie Woodcock (Treasurer)
  • Kate Macfarlane (Secretary to the PCC)
  • Peter Smith (PCC member)
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy