Cog Icon signifying link to Admin page

Plumtree Church

Parochial Church Council


The Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act of 1919 required that each parish in the Church of England should elect a council – the Parochial Church Council (PCC) - through which lay members would be able to participate in the administration of parochial affairs. The PCC is the successor of two earlier parochial institutions: the Vestry and the Church Trustees, from which it inherited the functions of representing the parish to the Church and acting as Trustee of the Church’s property in the parish.

PCC Responsibilities and Membership

The PCC is a team made up of the clergy and lay members of the church. Together they are responsible for the overall wellbeing of the church (practical as well as spiritual), the church members and the church buildings.

One of the primary functions of the PCC is 'promoting in the parish the whole mission of the Church, pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical'. Indeed in the church's annual report these topics have their own subsections in which their progress during the year is reported.

The business of the PCC is transacted at PCC meetings. Normally only members of the PCC are present (and can vote) at PCC meetings, although other representatives may be invited to attend if it is felt to be useful.

Find out More about PCC Membership.

PCC Governance

The functions and responsibilities of PCCs are regulated by three principal governing documents (all of which are available online).  There are full details on the PCC Governance page.

St Mary's PCC - current members

Rosemary Jordan 

Jane Cotton

Nichola Hull

Margaret Osbourn 

Aruna Day 

Angela North 

John Martin 

Colin Ferguson 

Sue Manley 

Ann Rogers 

Ann Tyler 


Ex-Officio Members

Pauline Voce

Tony Darby

Jackie Clark

Kate Macfarlane

Paul Olejnik